Tie-Dye Samples and Evaluation

Tie Dye xo-8

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the spiral technique. This is my first attempt in doing the spiral technique. It did not turn out as what I have expected, however, the choice of colour matches as it has pastel colours such as violet and maroon. These two colours matches because it is a mixture of the primary colours – blue and red. For the colour, violet, I mixed more amount of blue than red whereas, for the maroon, I mixed more amount of red than blue. Overall, I added lots of water to the dye to get the pastel result which represents pureness. I can relate this work to the work of David Magnusson’s Purity. This is because on both works, the emphasis has a very pale colour which brings the message of “purity”.

Tie Dye-2

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the spiral technique. This is my second attempt in doing the spiral technique. It did not turn out as what I have expected again, however, the choice of colours match as it contains two primary colours, mixed into secondary colours. The primary colours I have used to create the secondary colours effects are blue and red. The results of my secondary colours are navy blue and rosewood. This is because when I mixed red and blue together, the result was purple. To get the result of navy blue, I mixed purple, blue and extremely little black. To get the rosewood effect I mixed blue with more red. I decided to choose these colours because both are dark colours which will contrast with the white parts. However, there are too much white spaces that this technique does not look like a spiral anymore.

Tie Dye xo-4

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the spiral technique. This is my third attempt in doing the spiral technique. It did not turn out as what I have expected again, however, it was better than my pervious attempts and the choice of colours match as it contains two primary colours, mixed into secondary colours. The primary colours I have used to create the secondary colours effects are again, blue and red. The results of my secondary colours are rosewood, pink, and indigo. To get the result of indigo, I mixed purple (which is blue with red), and blue. To get the rosewood effect I mixed blue with more red. To get the result of pink, I mixed red and white. I decided to choose these colours to However, there are still lots of white spaces in the middle which affected the spiral.

Tie Dye-1

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the ombré technique. This is my first attempt in doing the ombré technique. It turned out as what I have expected – gradient of pastel lilac to white. The choice of colours match as it contains two primary colours, mixed into secondary colours. The primary colours I have used to create the secondary colours effects are blue and red. I added more blue and lots of water to get the pastel effect. For this ombré dye, I used the dip dye technique.

Tie Dye

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the ombré technique. This is my second attempt in doing the ombré technique. It turned out as what I have expected – gradient of pastel violet to baby blue and violet again. The choice of colours match as it contains two primary colours, mixed into secondary colours. The primary colours I have used to create the secondary colours effects are blue and red. I added more blue to make violet and lots of water to get the pastel effect. For this ombré dye, I used the dip dye technique.

Tie Dye xo-10

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the ombré technique. This is my third attempt in doing the ombré technique. It turned out as what I have expected –  a fading effect of pink. The choice of colours match as it contains two primary colours, mixed into secondary colours. The primary colours I have used to create the secondary colours effects are white and red. I dyed the top pink and pulled the colour up with a brush to create a fading effect and dyed the other side pink as well, leaving the middle white. For this ombré dye, I used the brush technique.

Tie Dye xo-5

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the shape technique. This is my first attempt in doing the shape technique. It turned out as what I have expected –  a baby blue heart contrasting the maroon sides. The choice of colours match as it contains two primary colours, mixed into secondary colours. The primary colours I have used to create the secondary colours effects are white and red. I dyed the heart baby blue the colour blended with maroon which gave the result of purple intercepting.

Tie Dye xo-2

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the shape technique. This is my second attempt in doing the shape technique. It turned out as what I have expected –  a fish under the sea. The choice of colours match as it has the atmosphere of an ocean – green plants, blue-green water reflection, blue water reflection, purple corals, and a pink fish.

Tie Dye xo-3

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the shape technique. This is my third attempt in doing the shape technique. It turned out as what I have expected –  a shape of a rotated square, expanding with different colours. The choice of colours match as I am trying to make some contrast in the middle and sides. I want to make them stand out a little as it shows that in life, no matter how much we stand out, we can still fit in the society.

Tie Dye xo

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the shape technique. This is my fourth attempt in doing the shape technique. It turned out as what I have expected –  a shape of a rainbow grunge on a roadside. Although there is no specific shape for this, I randomly tied the cloth and dyed it following the order of the colours which is rainbow.

tumblr_lwtu2ve29w1r72hzpo1_500

The choice of colours match as I am trying to make something like above.

Tie Dye xx-1

There is no specific technique for this tie-dye sample. This is my first attempt in doing something random. I decided to play around with the colour wheel and I crunched the cloth into a ball and tied it with elastic bands to make it stay in that shape. Then, I added primary colours which blended and mixed into secondary colours. The primary colours used are red and blue. From my works so far, I used mostly red (to get the result of purple) and blue because it reflects my identity. From my perspective, blue and purple are chilling colours that relax my mind as it has a very calm effect no matter what shade it is on.

 

Tie Dye xx

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the origami technique. This is my first attempt in doing the origami technique. There is no such thing as “origami technique” however, I decided to create a new tie-dye technique, which is this. It turned out as what I have expected – shape of roses. The choice of colours match as it is the colour of a typical rose – rosewood, green leaves, a little brownish on the stem. I decided to make the background blue as it represents the sky. The message that this work is trying to convey is that love makes your life brighter which brings happiness (roses representing love and blue sky representing brightness bringing happiness).

Tie Dye xo-11

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the ombré technique. This is my fourth attempt in doing the ombré technique. It turned out as what I have expected – gradient of sunset. The choice of colours match as it is similar to the colour of the sky during sunset. The primary colours I have used to create the secondary colours effects are red and blue. For the colour yellow, I mixed red and blue to get the result of yellow. To get orange, I mixed yellow and red and finally, I made a really light shade of red by adding lots of water at the bottom after the white gradient.

Tie Dye xo-7

The technique I used for this tie-dye sample is the shape technique. This is my fifth attempt in doing the shape technique. It turned out as what I have expected –  a shape of an upside down heart with torns. The choice of colours match as purple goes well with pink and white. My brief artistic intention is about anyone can have a beautiful appearance however, as we look deeper in them, their heart is being misused so it goes upside down, growing torns. I decided to use the colour purple because it represents poison as well and poison hurt people.

Tie Dye xo-6

There is no specific technique for this tie-dye sample. This is my second attempt in doing something random. I decided to play around with the colour wheel again and I folded the cloth into a rectangle with many layers. Then, I dipped the corners into my favourite colours that relax my mind. From my works so far, I used mostly red (to get the result of purple) and blue because it reflects my identity. From my perspective, blue and purple are chilling colours that relax my mind as it has a very calm effect no matter what shade it is on. Also, I like the colour mint because it represents brightness which brings happiness.

Leave a Reply

